Feb 2015:Current favorite makeup items Shea Moisture, Pacifica, Sana, Mally, etc.

I have sensitive acne prone skin so it isn’t always easy for me to wear makeup and I usually avoid wearing makeup on daily basis.
I’m currently in love with shea moisture cosmetic line because this line of face makeup doesn’t irritate my skin and I’m so glad it’s lightest color ” Waimea Bay Porcelain” seems like an ok fit for my skin color. Shea Moisture cosmetic doesn’t have a wide variety of lighter shades as it seems to target women of color. (Another brand I have in my mind right now that I haven’t had a chance to try out is Drew Barrymore’s Flower line, it seems to carry a lot of shades for fair to light tones)

Back to Shea moisture cosmetic line, the first item I tried out was its sheer foundation, it has light to medium coverage, it doesn’t seem to have a very good oil control, which I don’t really mind because I’m blotting my skin with Mally’s Evercolor Poreless Face Defender. I use it alone when I want a glossy dewy finished.

Shea Moisture Sheer Foundation
Smell:4/5 (description: no scent? more like mineral scent )

Color: 4 /5 (description: Waimea bay porcelain is a fair color but it still isn’t the perfect match for my skin, but I would say very close)

Consistency/coverage : 4/5 (description: light weight . Sheer to Medium coverage)

Value:3/5 (description: it’s $14.99, it costs more than other drugstore brands)

Package: 4/5 (description: a good old tube.)

Ingredients: 4/5 (description: not going to be picky, it doesn’t irritate my skin)

Accessibility :2/5 (description: only available in Target)

Repurchase likelihood: 4/5 (if I can get my hands on it)

Shea Moisture color corrective system
Smell:4/5 (description: no scent)

Color: 5/5 (description: Fair works for my skin color)

Consistency/coverage : 4/5 (description: thick but not hard to blend, I use sponage instead of brush and i scoop out the product with spatula not with a brush. Coverage is medium to full, use with sheer foundation from the same brand. What I love is that it has three colors you can blend and its cream instead of powder like a lot of other contouring & highlighting products)

Value:3/5 (description: it’s $24.99, it costs more than other drugstore brands)

Package: 4/5 (description: a flip cover would be better.)

Ingredients: 4/5 (description: not going to be picky, it’s not vegan or organic but it doesn’t irritate my skin)

Accessibility: 2/5 (description: only available in Target)

Repurchase likelihood: 4/5 (if I can get my hands on it)

Shea Moisture Wet/Dry pressed powder
Smell:4/5 (description: no scent, much like other items from this cosmetic line)

Color: 3.5/5 (description: Waimea bay porcelain is a fair color but it still isn’t the perfect match for my skin, it’s too light if I apply with wet sponge, it works fine as a dry pressed powder).

Consistency/coverage : 4/5 (description: powder, dry application is light and it’s the best among drugstore powder. I’ve tried with a wet sponge, it is ok, but I guess if I want a wet application, I should use its cream foundation or use my sheer foundation. Dry application has light coverage and wet application has more of a medium coverage, however, this color is too light for me to use as a wet application.)

Value:3/5 (description: it’s $14.99, it costs more than other drugstore brands, which is generally less than that)

Package: 4/5 (description: since it was the last compact in the store, the package is damaged to a degree, it doesn’t appear sturdy to me, somehow this powder is not removable like others (shea moisture’s pressed powder is removable) )

Ingredients: 4/5 (description: not going to be picky, it’s not vegan or organic but it doesn’t irritate my skin)

Accessibility :2/5 (description: only available in Target)

Repurchase likelihood: 4/5 (if I can get my hands on it)

Pacifica radiant shimmer coconut multiples
Smell:4/5 (description: coconut yess)

Color: 3/5 (description: color payoff isn’t so good, it adds a bit of shimmer to skin, it also ok to use these as lippies).

Consistency/coverage : 3/5 (description: creamy .)

Value:3/5 (description: catch it when it’s on sales, it costs more than other drugstore brands)

Package: 4/5 (description: cardboard with magnetic closure, I think It’s nice )

Ingredients: 5/5 (description: nice, no petrochemical, coconuty )

Accessibility: 3/5 (description: online and Target)

Repurchase likelihood: 4/5 (if I can get my hands on it)

Pacifica mystical eye shadow palette

Smell:4/5 (description: coconut infused, but I smell nothing)

Color: 4/5 (description: color payoff isn’t so good for lighter colors, its darker colors are better)

Consistency/coverage : 3/5 (description: soft powder .)

Value:3/5 (description: catch it when it’s on sales, it costs more than other drugstore brands)

Package: 4/5 (description: cardboard with magnetic closure, I think It’s nice )

Ingredients: 5/5 (description: nice, no petrochemical, coconuty )

Accessibility: 3/5 (description: online and Target)


Pacifica smolder eye lining gel in Tahitian Pearl
Smell:4/5 (description: haven’t smell it, it doesn’t seem to have any if I remember correcting)

Color: 4/5 (description: it’s definitely not super intense like my other eye lining gel, but it’s what I want, it does bleed a little bit, workable and Tahitian Pearl is really pretty with that exotic greenish gray and a little bit of golden shimmer, but not glittery ).

Consistency/coverage : 3/5 (description: creamy .)

Value:3/5 (description: catch it when it’s on sales, it costs more than other drugstore brands)

Package: 3/5 (description: i don’t understand why it doesn’t include a nice eye lining brush, I guess that would raise the cost even more)

Ingredients: 5/5 (description: nice, no petrochemical, coconuty )

Accessibility: 3/5 (description: online and Target)

IMG_4918.JPG

IMG_4914.JPG

IMG_4917.JPG

IMG_4913.JPG

IMG_4919.JPG

2 thoughts on “Feb 2015:Current favorite makeup items Shea Moisture, Pacifica, Sana, Mally, etc.

Leave a Reply

